Because Christianity is bigger than Biblical manhood or Biblical womanhood (Blog of Retha Faurie)

When I was a teenager, the church people who taught me about God asked me: “If someone held a gun to your head for your convictions, would you still have the courage to not keep silent about it?”

Now my convictions are egalitarian, many of them believe I should fall silent when they call me “wrong”.

 

Sorry, fundamentalists. I took your message about not hiding what I know to be true and important to heart.

 

Comments on: "Sorry, church people. That is not how you trained me." (2)

  1. Thank you for this. You are exactly right. I am not ‘silent’ anymore, either. Because I also still believe that with one’s silence, one condones what is being said. We need to stand up and speak out, speak loudly, and keep on speaking.

    Like

  2. I am so glad you are not silent! Keep speaking, you are not alone!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

