Because Christianity is bigger than Biblical manhood or Biblical womanhood (Blog of Retha Faurie)

At the Wailing Wall in Jerusalem when I was there in July, I thought of a blogger whom I never met in real life.

I took this photo at the entrance:

Entrance Wailing Wall

Entrance Wailing Wall

(It may look to you like some women are using the male entrance, and the man in the blue striped T-shirt the woman’s entrance, but these people are actually in the foreground, and the large entrance somewhat further back.)
The wall has a large part where only men can go, and a smaller woman’s section. Take a guess where I was:

Israel Egipte Toer 821

Women at Wailing Wall

And then I photographed another wall, the one that Shirley Taylor blogged about in the linked entry:

Israel Egipte Toer 822

Do you wail about walls like this one?

When I looked ahead to the Wailing Wall, this wall was to my left. On the other side of this wall was the men’s side.

At this place of petitionary prayer, what did I pray for? I prayed for certain kinds of walls to come down.

Comments on: "Thinking of Shirley at the wall" (3)

  1. Thank you for remembering me and my story about the Wall. This was a defining moment for me as I stood in the courtyard and was told that I had to go in a separate entrance behind a fence and where nobody could see me as I stood and touched the wall. These women, also, are tired of being separated by a wall when they come before God to pray. They have begun to speak out, and we join our voices with theirs.

    Like

  2. Thanks for this. There is nothing in the Torah about women being separated or held back from full participation in the Temple. There was no “court of the women” or “court of the Gentiles” in the design given by God for either the Tabernacle or Solomon’s Temple. All of that was added later, by men.

    Like

  3. undermuchgrace said:

    Awesome post, Retha. I can’t think of a better modifier for it.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

