Because Christianity is bigger than Biblical manhood or Biblical womanhood (Blog of Retha Faurie)

I’ve been thinking about how to picture equality, and I see now the mathematical equal sign should certainly not be included. Here is another picture of how I see it. (Actually, I see it with realistic man and woman shaped shadow images in my mind, not these symbol-like simplifications. That would make the cross higher too, as men and women are taller. But this is what I can draw quickly.)

The ground at the feet of the cross is level.

Comments on: "Symbol 2: How do I see the egalitarian message?" (7)

  1. I like this one a lot.

    Like

  2. This one works! Side by side and both under the cross. The first one could be interpreted as superimposing something onto the cross — never a helpful idea. I also think this one proclaims equality without being offensive to complementarians in the same immediate way

    Like

  3. This one’s better– but I don’t know if it is clear enough on what distinguishes egalitarianism from complementarianism. Complementarians will certainly agree that the ground is level at the foot of the cross. They will happily agree that Galatians 3:28 says that in Christ, there is neither male nor female– when it comes to salvation. The cross symbolizes salvation, and complementarians agree that we are all equal before God in salvation.

    The place where complementarians differ is in the gifts and callings of the Holy Spirit. To complementarians, all female callings in the church and home are to subordinate places under men. Complementarians deny the gifting of the Holy Spirit to women when it comes to leadership in the church or home. This is why I feel the best symbol for egalitarianism would combine symbols for male and female, with a symbol for the Holy Spirit. Egalitarians say we are all equal in the Holy Spirit. Complementarians do not.

    Like

    • Good points. Unfortunately.

      For most of the complementarians I know, you are right.

      To me, we *live* at the foot of the cross–the time in which we are living is after Jesus’ death and resurrection, and so we are enveloped in the love and grace those actions (and so the cross) represent. There is nothing we do or chose to not do that does not happen at the foot of the cross. So it stands for much more than only salvation. But what I’ve heard taught in the evangelical churches I’ve attended has had a much less comprehensive view of what the cross means…

      I think it’s related somehow to the idea that “eternity” starts after one dies, rather than the view that we are living in eternity, right this minute. I just finished eating my oatmeal in a part of eternity.

      I don’t think we can come up with a perfect symbol. I like this one….

      Like

  4. Now I get why it should have the Spirit, and not Christ, in it.

    Like

  5. I like this one too. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

