Because Christianity is bigger than Biblical manhood or Biblical womanhood (Blog of Retha Faurie)

Background to experiment:

The Biblical womanhood crowd claim that feminists (meaning, in their parlance “anyone who does not accept everything we teach about where women belong”) self-centered. They also claim their complementarian, “submissive”, stay-at-home world view offer the solution to this self-centeredness, the way of focusing on others instead of self.

Purpose of experiment:

To test if Biblical womanhood women are less self-centered in their thinking than feminists.

Method:

1) Find the first 5 Biblical womanhood blogs on http://www.networkedblogs.com/ . Count the amount of words (excluding quoted words from others) in the most recent entry on each. Count the amount of times the words “I”, “me”, “my” or “myself” appear.

2) Find the first 5 feminism blogs on http://www.networkedblogs.com/ . Count the same things as before.

3) Compare the results.

Results of test, as performed Saturday morning 2 April 2011:

Biblical womanhood blogs

The 5 topics were, “I finished reading this (Biblical womanhood book) and look forward to reading this next”, “Why I don’t blog anymore”, “review of the book I co-authored”, “what we ate last night”, “the season I am having in my life”

The posts had 642+220+224+60+364=1510 words.

Self-centered words were 58+6+9+0+17= 90. (Technically, a blog named “blessed femina” had a perfect score. But this entry consists of a menu of what her family had for a birthday feast, photos of food, and then a verse that the virtuous woman brings in food from afar. In real life, it was probably a way of flaunting her culinary skill. )

These bloggers mentioned the self once every 17 words.

Feminist blogs

The 5 topics were: “Arranged marriages”, “Scott Adams fails to save face”, “links about: prevention of abuse/ worrying about discrimination/ body awareness”, “female sexual desire”, and “euthanasia.” Except for Scott Adams, these are all topics that directly concern mercy, justice, or the (emotional or physical) health of others. Not one topic was about the feminist herself, or promotion of her own book.

The posts had 3131+1280+115+569+574=5669 words.

Self-centered words were 22+6+0+5+2=35

The self was mentioned once every 162 words.

Conclusion:

As far as people can be measured by their words. Biblical womanhood bloggers are almost ten times as self-centered as feminists.

Personal opinion (Hey, scientists have biases too!):

Is anyone surprised when the church in America is losing members? Church people are tithing on mint, dill and cumin, (reference from Mat 23:23) while those shunned by the church are the ones to consider justice and mercy?

Comments on: "Selfishness: Feminism vs. Biblical womanhood" (6)

  1. great survey! It is an excellent idea to challenge data and opinions that are negative. High Five to you! 🙂

    Like

  2. Dang, I guess I better count how many times I use the words “I”, “me”, “my”, etc.
    I have the feeling that I use those words a lot in my writing on my blog. 😉

    Like

  3. Kristen said:

    Wonderful post! It seems clear to me that narrowing woman’s sphere to domesticity only does precisely what it sets out to do: it narrows. She may be selflessly giving to her husband and children, but home life has become her only concern. Her blogging will then become the one time when she can have a little “me-time,” which everyone needs. She thus has neither scope nor energy to focus on justice or mercy to anyone outside her narrowed sphere.

    It is not that these women are selfish. It’s that the only other-centeredness they are allowed is family centeredness, and in whatever tiny amount of time they have left, they must focus on self or go mad.

    Like

    • True. The conclusion to draw is not that some people should be blamed for selfishness, its as Kristen say. This is a report that the Bib. Wo. view does not offer a women the tools to look outward meaningfully, while the feminist views they call selfish apparently do. Jesus said to “love our neighbour as ourselves” and that certainly gives a motive for a certain amount of focusing on self.
      And the ironic thing is, when “Biblical womenhood” women are critical, judgemental, and scared of other opinions on their blogs, they usually do love others as themselves. They simply never learned to love themselves as Jesus loved them…
      But they have my sympathy. Even the Proverbs women had servants – and absolutely needed them.
      ——-
      TL – you speak of young mothers craving adults. In ancient times, of course, households looked very different and several adult siblings, their spouses, their servants and parents or in laws may have been part of one large household. The guy who leave his wife as only adult at home with several children, is not even following a Biblical example.

      Like

  4. “It is not that these women are selfish. It’s that the only other-centeredness they are allowed is family centeredness, and in whatever tiny amount of time they have left, they must focus on self or go mad.”

    Very true. This is why young mothers crave talking to adults after a long day of children’s voices, children’s concerns, etc.

    Like

  5. Michelle said:

    Interesting survey. I know I use “I” and “me” a lot on my blog, and I hope there’s a context there of what I hope for women and men currently stuck in the gender role system that places men in positions of authority over women.

    I’m glad to see something positive from a christian blogger about feminism (though of course I know no system is entirely positive). It amuses me to add that before I came to Christ, when I was a feminist who didn’t know Christ, I was a feminist because I believed that the enforcement of gender roles deprived the world of the gifts of people who don’t fit the stereotypes. So my perspective was gift-based, even then.

    God works through whomever God chooses…

    Like

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

