Because Christianity is bigger than Biblical manhood or Biblical womanhood

In a recent thread in a Facebook group, a woman in a position of church leadership grieved that she was called “in open rebellion against God’s word” by being a woman in a church leadership position.
To which Deborah Downs answered (with a quote she previously wrote on her blog:

“When we come down to the basics of the polarities, two truths remain. If I am called to the priesthood as a complementarian then I am extraordinary. If I am called to the priesthood as an egalitarian then I am ordinary. But in neither instance can I be construed as disobedient unless God has never and will never call a woman into leadership. But He has, and He does, therefore, I am either extraordinary or ordinary, but disobedient I am not.”

Dawn Wilson, also a female pastor, had an answer too. Once again, it points back to God and his calling, not what others think:

Those throwing this at you … to quote Sheldon … think they are having a BAZINGA moment .. as if they got you and now you have nothing to reply …. they have said the final all ending word.

Frustrating … yes … but not enough to go up on the ledge

My Scripture response to those who throw this statement at me is this …

1 Thessalonians 2:4 but just as we have been approved by God to be entrusted with the gospel, so we speak, not as pleasing to men but to God , who examines our hearts.

I throw the weight back on God and God’s approval of me and His examining of my heart motives. My BAZINGA right back at them!

Comments on: "Quotable quotes: An extraordinary response from an “ordinary” woman preacher" (4)

  1. Please forgive me for being off topic, but I wanted to draw your attention to a post over at Biblical womanhood. Retha – I believe you have made some comments there before. I have commented there too. However, I just find the following post about denying women the status of deacon very disconcerting and off-putting for a number of reasons. I hope to comment on that article later. I know that you have addressed that and similar issues here. I just wanted to share that. I just don’t believe that some of the articles over at Biblical Womanhood are balanced. They imply that the only role a woman can and/or should have is that of wife and mother. They seem to deny or omit many of the other roles that women had in the Bible even from a literal perspective.

    http://biblicalwoman.com/women-deacons/

  2. That’s what I was thinking too, Retha. If there were a strict biblical prohibition on women leading, then we’d find it nowhere sanctioned in scripture. But we do, and often. The so-called prohibitions must be read in context, and that context includes the repeated instances of women leading God’s people in one way or another, and prophesying and preaching his word as well.

    Cheers,
    Tim

    P.S. Followed you over from Karen Dabaghian’s blog.

  3. ” two truths remain. If I am called to the priesthood as a complementarian then I am extraordinary. If I am called to the priesthood as an egalitarian then I am ordinary. But in neither instance can I be construed as disobedient unless God has never and will never call a woman into leadership. But He has, and He does, therefore, I am either extraordinary or ordinary, but disobedient I am not.”

    Perfect!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 102 other followers

