Because Christianity is bigger than Biblical manhood or Biblical womanhood

Does it taste like mud?

Does it taste like mud?

Adam: Soil tastes sweet! How could you disagree with me when we read the soil is brown, and “brown” mean sweet?

Anita: “Brown” does not mean sweet. It is a color, not a taste.

Adam: But we read chocolate cake is brown, too. Do you deny that chocolate cakes are sweet?

I’ve heard an argument like that several times. It goes like this:

Male commenter: Man is the leader (soil tastes sweet)! How could you disagree with me when we read man (the soil) is the head (brown), and head means leader (brown mean sweet)?

Me: Head in the Bible (brown) does not mean leader (sweet). It means being the source, not the leader (is a color, not a taste).

Male commenter: But we read Jesus (chocolate cake) is the head (brown), too. Do you deny that Jesus (chocolate cake) is our leader (sweet)?

Chocolate cake is sweet, but that is a different fact from it being brown. And Jesus is our Lord, but that is a different fact from him being our head. Head, figuratively used in the New Testament means source. That is the apparent meaning of the two passages that call man the head of woman.

If I ever hear this argument again, I’ll give this URL instead of trying to explain.

 

Comments on: "The taste of soil, and a point I don’t want to explain again" (3)

  1. Often when I’m in a conversation with someone on another blog that requires a long explanation, I’ve often already given that explanation in a blog post. So I just link the blog post. It is very handy. And I hope that the hosting blogs don’t think I’m trying to use them to get blog traffic. I just get tired of repeating myself. So it’s nice to just link what I’ve already said.

  2. I totally agree with you that head, figuratively used in the New Testament, means source. Not only does the context of the passages (where head is used figuratively) prove that, but also Christ’s words when He says that One is our Leader, Christ. If Christ is our only leader, then a man cannot be a woman’s leader and thus head cannot mean leader.

  3. I just had to laugh at this. The devil in me makes me think of man/male as ‘brown’. And right, brown is NOT sweet. Brown is a color, and is the color of ****. Forgive me. I just had to make that point.

    Sometimes the same men who ‘claim’ to be so logical, are so not.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers

